MSpace - DSpace at UofM >
Inactive >
Learning Technologies Centre (Learning Objects) >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Title: McCarthy's 4MAT approach to learning
Authors: Lahaie, Ulysses; Tittenberger, Peter
Keywords: learning
Issue Date: 25-May-2006
Abstract: A learning style refers to the way individuals process information and learn. There is no better or best learning style, all are of value and represent different ways of gaining knowledge. The 4MAT model, developed by Bernice McCarthy in 1979, is constructed along two axis: perceiving and processing. Individual preferences along these axis determine an individual's approach to learning. The 4MAT method is a process for delivering instruction that appeals to the following four different learner types. 1. innovative learners, 2. analytic learners, 3. common sense learners, or 4. dynamic learners In this tutorial, we will present you with 18 characteristics of the four different learner types. Your task is to determine which of are characteristics of innovative, analytic, common sense and dynamic learners. After completing this tutorial, you will have a better understanding of the characteristics of each of McCarthy’s approaches to learning.
Type: Exercise
Appears in Collection(s):Learning Technologies Centre (Learning Objects)

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
nursinginternal2_0.swf55.75 kBShockwaveView/Open
View Statistics

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License
Creative Commons

Items in MSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.


Valid XHTML 1.0! MSpace Software Copyright © 2002-2010  Duraspace - Feedback